Experimenting with Photoshop

This is a print screen of our front cover digi-pack design built on photoshop CS5. To create this complex design, I had to use a wide variety of layers to add graduate tones and shading to the images.

Here I just put the picture that I will manipulate onto Photoshop.

Here I have tested many different adjustments, have found that this black and white adjustment with the addition of more brightness and contrast adjustments has created the best look for this picture. Whilst also linking to the overall cover look and feel based off the front and back covers.

To make the name of the song stand out ‘Trapped in my mind’ I have made the letters into a dark red colour to distinguish them from the other letters present in the picture.

I have added pictures of our actor ‘Dom’ inside the letters to create a cool effect, some of the pictures are straight from our music video. I had to crop and resize all the pictures, and use layers to place the pictures inside the letters, I decided to place the letters inside the pictures with the white fillings.

Here I have added another picture for the inside cover of our album digipack onto photoshop.

Just like the photo before I have used dark red to colour in the words ‘Kid Cudi’ to distinguish the artist name from the other letters present in the photo.

Adjustments needed to be done to the contrast and brightness of this picture to create the best look for the inside cover, the black and white did not fit this picture like the previous picture. Therefore I have used different adjustments to this picture to make it look great and fit the other pictures just as good.

Like the picture before I have inserted scenes and photos of our actor Dom into the letters on the wall, giving the inside of the album digipack and dark and great feel. Whilst still showing what song and artist is inside.

Final Designs for internal sides of the Digi-Pack:

Right hand side of the Final CD cover

Right hand side of the final CD cover

Leave a comment